The »Quartier Am Humboldthain« is emerging on the former premises of an AEG plant dominated by historic factory buildings designed by Peter Behrens. This is already the site of the »Technology Park Humboldthain« (TPH), which is home to such institutions as TU Berlin’s Wedding campus and the »Fraunhofer Institute for Reliability and Microintegration«. &MICA is relying on connections for the new development. The green Humboldthain park itself, the technology park and the new development form a symbiotic partnership in the design: Two north–south paths through the site and a central promenade constitute an open pathway system and join the development to the park and the neighbourhood alike. Visual connections between the existing and new buildings are accentuated. As the heart of the area, the central promenade aligns with the impressive façade of the former High-Voltage Factory by Peter Behrens (today Fraunhofer IZM).

Urban Design: Building on a Grid
The urban design by &MICA is based on a grid on which the individual buildings can, like flexible pixels, be positioned, connected, separated and changed. This results in a dense development and simultaneously ensures an inviting atmosphere, a high proportion of greenery and bright, attractive workspaces.

Architecture: Building for More Flexibility
A total of six modular, adaptable buildings are grouped around the central promenade. Access is from four sides, depending on the use: The formal main entrances to the buildings face the promenade, while direct access to the production-intensive areas is from the street.
The buildings, which range from 3 to 13 storeys, step down in height from north to south. This design allows for many green spaces at different heights, fosters air circulation and emphasises modularity. The buildings can be linked with bridges and thus expanded in their use. Stretching between the individual buildings are paved semi-public workers’ courtyards, which offer scope for individual, need-oriented open space design.

Building for the Future
The use of the roofs as retention areas, intensive roof and façade greening, irrigation with excess rainwater that is collected in cisterns: »Quartier Am Humboldthain« is designed to be sustainable in many respects. Geothermal energy combined with photovoltaics aims at CO2-neutral operation, especially since the stepped heights of the buildings enables the incorporation of building-integrated photovoltaics on the southward façades.

Traffic: Building for Car-Free Connections
Thanks to its central location with good transport links, the site offers superb conditions for establishing an enclave with few cars. Consequently, &MICA is planning the neighbourhood to be largely car-free in favour of a comprehensive open and green space design. Need-oriented use is envisaged for emergency, delivery and waste disposal vehicles. Separate underground parking garages provide space to accommodate 400 cars and 4,000 bicycles. The commercial traffic to be expected from the predominantly commercial use will be managed within the quarter in an environmentally friendly manner. A logistics hall in the north-western building serves as a central point for loading and unloading vehicles. A transfer hub is provided inside the building for »last mile« logistics: Deliveries will be made by e-transporters, cargo bikes and, in the future, AMR (autonomous mobile robots). A centrally located »mobility hub« provides bundled mobility opportunities and services along with lockers, charging facilities and mobility counselling.

Building for Undisturbed Coexistence
&MICA separates noise-intensive industry from quiet commerce. The production industry will be separated from the housing – as will the logistics centre and delivery points. Noise-intensive production and logistics are located towards the street, while zones of encounter and quiet businesses face the residential buildings. Public and semi-public spaces are also wisely zoned within the buildings: the ground-floor zones accommodate production facilities on the street side, whereas along the central promenade there are skilled-trade businesses, showrooms, social facilities that serve people from beyond the immediate area, and some recreational and cultural facilities. This enlivens the centre and guarantees peace and quiet for the neighbourhood. On the floors above, flexible spaces are available for laboratories and offices.

Our design is based on a grid on which the individual buildings can be arranged, connected, equalised and changed like flexible pixels.

Visual relationships between the existing buildings and the new ones are emphasised.

Within the buildings, public and semi-public spaces are sensibly zoned.

Location
Berlin
Type
Working
Client
Quartier Am Humboldthain GmbH
Time Frame
2022
Size
Approx. 228.800 m² GFA
Services
Concept
Status
Concept

You

We look forward to
your message!

Das »Quartier Am Humboldthain« entsteht auf einem ehemaligen Werksgelände der AEG, das durch die historischen Fabrikgebäude von Peter Behrens geprägt ist. Hier befindet sich bereits der »Technologiepark Humboldthain« (TPH), der u.a. den »Campus Wedding« der TU Berlin und das »Fraunhofer-Institut für Zuverlässigkeit und Mikrointegration« beheimatet. &MICA setzt für das Quartier auf Verbindungen: Der grüne Humboldthain selbst, der Technologiepark und das neue Quartier gehen im Entwurf eine symbiotische Partnerschaft ein: Zwei Nord-Süd-Durchwegungen und eine Mittelpromenade eröffnen eine offene Wegestruktur und verbinden das Quartier mit dem Park und der Nachbarschaft gleichermaßen. Blickbeziehungen zwischen dem Bestand und den Neubauten werden betont. Die Mittelpromenade als Herzstück des Areals ist auf die beeindruckende Fassade der ehemaligen Hochspannungsfabrik von Peter Behrens (heute Fraunhofer IZM) ausgerichtet.

Bauen auf einem Raster
Dem städtebaulichen Entwurf von &MICA liegt ein Raster zugrunde, auf dem die einzelnen Gebäude wie flexible Pixel angeordnet, verbunden, entzerrt und verändert werden können. Das schafft eine dichte Bebauung und gewährleistet gleichzeitig eine gute Aufenthaltsqualität, einen hohen Grünanteil und helle, attraktive Arbeitsflächen.

Bauen für mehr Flexibilität
Insgesamt sechs modulare, flexible Gebäude gruppieren sich um die Mittelpromenade. Die Zugänge erfolgen – je nach Nutzung – von vier Seiten: Die repräsentativen Haupteingänge in die Gebäude sind zur Promenade ausgerichtet, direkte Zugänge zu den produktionsintensiven Bereichen erfolgen von der Straße.
Die 3- bis 13-geschossigen Gebäude sind von Norden nach Süden abgetreppt. Diese Gestaltung ermöglicht viele Grünflächen auf unterschiedlichen Höhen, begünstigt die Luftzirkulation und betont die Modularität. Die Gebäude können mit Brücken verbunden und so in ihrer Nutzung erweitert werden. Zwischen den einzelnen Baukörpern erstrecken sich gepflasterte halböffentliche Handwerkerhöfe, die Spielraum für eine individuelle, bedarfsorientierte Freiraumgestaltung bieten.

Bauen für die Zukunft
Die Nutzung der Dächer als Retentionsflächen, eine intensive Dach- und Fassadenbegrünung, die Bewässerung mit überschüssigem Regenwasser, das in Zisternen gesammelt wird: Das »Quartier Am Humboldthain« ist in vielerlei Hinsicht nachhaltig geplant. Geothermie in Verbindung mit Photovoltaik zielt auf einen CO2-neutralen Betrieb, zumal die Abtreppung der Gebäude die Integration von bauwerksintegrierter Photovoltaik an den Südfassaden ermöglicht.

Bauen für autofreie Verbindungen
Das Areal weist aufgrund seiner zentralen, verkehrsgünstig erschlossenen Lage hervorragende Randbedingungen für ein autoarmes Quartier auf. Zugunsten einer umfassenden Frei- und Grünraumgestaltung plant &MICA das Quartier daher weitgehend autofrei. Bedarfsorientiert ist die Nutzung durch Einsatz-, Ver- und Entsorgungsfahrzeuge vorgesehen. Separate Tiefgaragen für den ruhenden Verkehr bieten Platz für 400 Pkw und 4.000 Fahrräder. Der durch die überwiegend gewerbliche Nutzung zu erwartende Wirtschaftsverkehr soll im Quartier umweltverträglich abgewickelt werden. Eine Logistikhalle im nordwestlichen Baukörper dient zum Be- und Entladen der Fahrzeuge. Für die Logistik der »letzten Meile« ist ein Umsteige-Hub im Gebäude vorgesehen: Die Zustellung von Lieferungen erfolgt durch E-Transporter, Lastenfahrräder und perspektivisch AMR (Autonome mobile Roboter). In einem zentral gelegenen Mobility Hub stehen gebündelt Mobilitätsangebote und -dienstleistungen sowie Schließfächer, Lademöglichkeiten und Mobilitätsberatung zur Verfügung.

Bauen für ein ungestörtes Miteinander
&MICA trennt schallintensive Industrie von ruhigem Gewerbe. Das produzierende Gewerbe wird von der Wohnbebauung entzerrt – ebenso wie das Logistikzentrum und die Anlieferungspunkte. Lärmintensive Produktion und Logistik sind zur Straße geplant, Begegnungszonen und ruhiges Gewerbe richten sich zur Wohnbebauung aus. Auch innerhalb der Gebäude sind öffentliche und halböffentliche Räume sinnvoll zoniert: die Erdgeschosszonen beherbergen straßenseitig Produktionsstätten, entlang der Mittelpromenade sind Handwerksbetriebe, Showrooms, quartierübergreifende soziale Einrichtungen sowie vereinzelte Freizeit- und Kulturangebote angesiedelt. Das belebt das Zentrum und garantiert Ruhe für die Nachbarschaft. Ab dem 1. OG stehen die flexiblen Räumlichkeiten Laboren und Büros zur Verfügung.

Unserem Entwurf liegt ein Raster zugrunde, auf dem die einzelnen Gebäude wie flexible Pixel angeordnet, verbunden, entzerrt und verändert werden können.

Blickbeziehungen zwischen dem Bestand und den Neubauten werden
betont.

Innerhalb der Gebäude sind öffentliche und halböffentliche Räume sinnvoll zoniert.

Standort
Berlin
Typ
Arbeiten
Auftraggeber:in
Quartier Am Humboldthain GmbH
Zeitraum
2022
Projektgröße
ca. 228.800 m² BGF gesamt
Leistung
Entwurf
Projektstand
Entwurf

Sie

Wir freuen uns auf
Ihre Nach­richt!