The New Ruin

Working inside »Telegraph« in Berlin-Mitte

How do you enlarge a building that breathes history? In Berlin’s Köpenicker Straße, &MICA was able to renovate a listed historic loft building and complement it with a new building. The contemporary revitalisation of venerable walls became a forward-thinking and sustainable office ensemble thanks to two courageous decisions.

The first decision was to preserve the traces left by time on the existing building. The common theme of history runs through the entire building, even after having been refurbished. Our sensitive treatment of the existing built fabric brings to life its material presence. Steel structural elements are accentuated, and plaster surfaces and flaking paint are preserved. Original piers and window breasts have been given back their function and appearance, and vaulted brick ceilings made visible.

To give the existing building a worthy counterpart, the second decision was made: The new building is conceived as a ruin being reclaimed by nature. The new was conceived from the start as remaining unfinished and thus ideally complements the old that persists.

A landmarked fragment of the original building serves as the base for the new building. A straightforward concrete façade with generous glass fronts is punctuated by lush greenery. In front of the balconies, which stretch across the entire width of the new building, are planted gabions. Growing out of these wire cages are pioneer shrubs that seek their way across the woven steel mesh of the balcony railings. The plants are far more than aesthetic elements: they serve as particulate filters and as climate buffers that reduce noise and cool the air.

»Telegraph« is a modern place of work with 11,650 m2 of high-quality and energy-efficient usable floor area. It is complemented by a green oasis, the inner courtyard, which has been freed of parking spaces and bicycle racks. The two-wheelers can now be parked in an underground garage.

Plans

Working inside »Telegraph« in Berlin-Mitte

Site plan

Pictogram

Pictogram

Ground floor

Standard floor

Section

View

»Telegraph« and Sustainability

 

Building for the Environment

Photovoltaics and geothermics supply the buildings with environmentally friendly energy. Extensive greening of the façade filters particulate matter from the air, buffers heat and promotes biodiversity.

 

Building for Tranquillity

The underground parking facility with space for 220 bicycles and 10 cars frees the courtyards from vehicles and turns them into leafy recreational areas.

 

Bauen »for the Ages«

Wherever possible, respect was paid to the history of the ruins. Old parts of the building were retained and refurbished to meet the latest standards. The result is contemporary architecture with a nineteenth-century ambience.

In conversation with
Silvia Ciprian

»A key feature is the greening of the façade with the help of gabions. This ecological concept was developed in Japan and applied for the first time in Europe together with the landscape architects from Atelier le balto.«

In this way, we are promoting the mobility revolution.

The underground car park with space for 220 bicycles and 10 cars frees the courtyards from means of transport and turns them into green recreational areas.

Location
Berlin-Mitte
Type
Working
Client
Brant Esada Group
Time Frame
2016 – 2022
Size
Approx. 11.650 m² GFA
Services
LPH 1 – 5 HOAI and artistic supervision
Landscape architect
Atelier le balto
Status
Completed
Photography
Büro Schramm für Gestaltung and Luca Abbiento

You

We look forward to
your message!

Die neue Ruine

Arbeiten im »Telegraph« in Berlin-Mitte

Wie erweitert man ein Gebäude, das Geschichte atmet? An der Köpenicker Straße in Berlin durfte &MICA ein denkmal­ge­schütztes, histo­ri­sches Fabrik­ge­bäude sanieren und um einen Neubau ergänzen. Aus der zeitge­mäßen Wieder­be­lebung altehr­wür­diger Mauern wurde mit zwei mutigen Entschei­dungen ein zukunfts­ori­en­tiertes und nachhal­tiges Büroen­semble.

Die erste Entscheidung war, die Spuren der Zeit am Bestand zu erhalten. Der rote Faden der Historie zieht sich auch nach der Sanierung durch das ganze Gebäude. Der behutsame Umgang mit dem Bestand macht seine Materia­lität erlebbar. Die Stahl­kon­struk­tionen werden betont, Putzstruk­turen und abgeblät­terte Farben bleiben erhalten. Ursprüng­liche Pfeiler und Brüstungen bekommen ihre Funktion und Anmutung zurück, Ziegel­kap­pen­decken werden sichtbar gemacht.

Um dem Bestand ein würdiges Gegenüber zu geben, fiel die zweite Entscheidung: Der Neubau wird als Ruine konzi­piert, die von der Natur zurück­er­obert wird. Das Neue war von Anfang an roh gedacht und ergänzt so ideal das vorhandene Alte.

Dem Neubau dient ein denkmal­ge­schütztes Fragment des ursprüng­lichen Gebäudes als Sockel. Eine schlichte Beton­fassade mit großzü­gigen Glasfronten wird durch üppiges Grün struk­tu­riert. Vor den Balkonen, welche sich über die gesamte Breite des Neubaus ziehen, stehen bepflanzte Gabionen. Aus ihnen heraus suchen sich Pionier­ge­hölze ihren Weg über die stahl­ge­floch­tenen Balkon­gitter. Die Pflanzen sind dabei weit mehr als ästhe­tische Elemente: Sie dienen als Feinstoff­filter und Klima­puffer, reduzieren Lärm und kühlen.

Das »Telegraph« ist ein moderner Arbeitsort mit 11.650 m2 hochwer­tiger und energie­ef­fi­zi­enter Nutzfläche. Ergänzt wird es durch eine grüne Oase, den Innenhof, der von Parkplätzen und Fahrrad­ständern befreit wurde. Den Zweirädern steht nun eine Tiefgarage zur Verfügung.

Pläne

Arbeiten im »Telegraph« in Berlin-Mitte

Lageplan

Pikto­gramme

Pikto­gramme

Erdge­schoss

Regel­schoss

Schnitt

Ansicht

»Telegraph« und Nachhal­tigkeit

 

Bauen für die Umwelt

Die Gebäude werden über Photo­voltaik und Geothermie umwelt­schonend mit Energie versorgt. Eine extensive Begrünung der Fassade filtert den Feinstaub aus der Luft, puffert Wärme und fördert die Biodi­ver­sität.

 

Bauen für Ruhe

Die Tiefgarage mit Platz für 220 Fahrräder und 10 Autos befreit die Höfe von Fortbe­we­gungs­mitteln und macht aus ihnen grüne Erholungs­flächen.

 

Bauen »für immer«

Wo auch immer möglich, wurde der Historie der Ruine Respekt gezollt. Alte Substanz wurde beibe­halten und nach neusten Standards aufge­frischt. So entstand zeitgemäße Archi­tektur im Ambiente des 19. Jahrhun­derts.

Im Gespräch mit
Silvia Ciprian

»Ein wesent­liches Merkmal ist die Fassa­den­be­grünung mithilfe von Gabionen. Dieses ökolo­gische Konzept wurde in Japan entwi­ckelt und zusammen mit den Landschaftsarchitekt:innen von Atelier le balto zum ersten Mal in Europa angewandt.«

Wir fördern damit die Mobili­täts­wende.

Die Tiefgarage mit Platz für 220 Fahrräder und 10 Autos befreit die Höfe von Fortbe­we­gungs­mitteln und macht aus ihnen grüne Erholungs­flächen.

Standort
Berlin-Mitte
Typ
Arbeiten
Auftraggeber:in
Brant Esada Group
Zeitraum
2016 – 2022
Projekt­größe
ca. 11.650 m² BGF gesamt
Leistung
LPH 1 – 5 HOAI und künst­le­rische Oberleitung
Landschaftsarchitekt:innen
Atelier le balto
Projekt­stand
Fertig­ge­stellt
Fotografie
Büro Schramm für Gestaltung und Luca Abbiento

Sie

Wir freuen uns auf
Ihre Nach­richt!